02/09 | Cheater-pants

02/09/11

outfit
{ blazer: J. Crew, top: thrifted Ralph Lauren, jeans: Old Navy,
boots: Kenneth Cole/DSW, belt: Ann Klein, necklace: American Eagle }
I know I’m cheating by skipping all my other photos and posting yesterday’s outfit, but I can’t help myself. Why do I have to blog in chronological order? I dunno…’cus it’s how everyone else does it (after this post I’m going to jump off a bridge too). But back to the point at hand. I’m skipping ahead because I absolutely adore what I’m wearing, and I couldn’t wait to share it.
This outfit is a winner not only because of how it made me look (behold the slimming powers of dark jeans and heels!), but also because of how it made me feel–which was fabulous!
I felt put-together, fashionable, sexy (in that covered up kinda way), and confident. I’m a firm believer that any outfit that can make you feel confident and want to shout to the world, “Hey World! I’m here to kick ass and look damn good while doing it!” is an outfit that should end up in your standard rotation. And to top it all off, it’s something anyone can put together with items in their own closet.
The key pieces are a dark blazer that hits just above the hip-bone (mine has pin striping that the camera didn’t pick up), and dark-wash jeans. When cinched at your natural waist with a thin black belt and topped off with black high-heel boots, you’ve got a recipe for Insta-Skinny. You could really wear any combination of top and jewelry with this look, so it’s extremely versatile. I’ve gone with a high-class Ralph Lauren vibe with a pin striped cotton button-up and, for a little pizzaz, I wore a layered pearl choker under the shirt’s collar so that only a little would peek out.
I can tell you for certain that this isn’t the last time you’ll see a version of this outfit!
(On a little side note: two days ago, while venturing out into the wild that is my yard to take photos, my camera and its tripod were viciously knocked down by a gust of wind. Upon hitting the ground, my lens popped off and appears to have been broken. I’m going to take it to a shop and try to fix it, but in the meantime, I hope you’ll bear with me while I figure out the exposure logistics of taking pictures with a telephoto lens.)
02/09/11
02/09/11
02/09/11
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Let me know what you think!

